Tuesday, July 23, 2013

CHL Meeting Board Of Governors Decisions

Here is the press release from the CHL talking about decisions made at the meeting last week. Remember, decisions were made concerning the Collective Bargaining Agreement but they will be part of negotiations with the Professional Hockey Players Association (PHPA) and would obviously not be made public.

CHL Annual Board of Governors Meeting Concludes

CHL Annual Board of Governors Meeting Concludes

Playoff Format and Conference Alignment Determined

GLENDALE, AZ (July 23, 2013) – The Central Hockey League’s (CHL) Board of Governors met in Phoenix last week at the Arizona Biltmore Resort during the League’s annual “Summer Conference” and made several determination including conference alignment and playoff format.

For the second straight season, the CHL’s teams will compete in one 10-team conference, the Berry Conference.  Participating in the 2013-14 season are the Allen Americans, Arizona Sundogs, Denver Cutthroats, Missouri Mavericks, Quad City Mallards, Rapid City Rush, Tulsa Oilers, Wichita Thunder and the expansion Brampton Beast and St. Charles Chill.

The playoff format remains the same with eight teams qualifying for post-season play ranked one through eight based on regular season point totals.  The post-season will consist of three rounds with the Opening Round, the Berry Conference Semifinals and the Ray Miron Presidents’ Cup Finals and all series’ will be a best-of-7 format.

Also determined was that the CHL would adapt the rule change of eliminating the “attainable” pass rule which allows for a linesman to waive off icing if it was determined that a pass was attainable.

The Board of Governors also voted that the halving of minor penalties in overtime would continue meaning all minor infractions called in overtime would result in a 1:00 penalty and that an emphasis would be placed by the on-ice officials to monitor closely diving infractions.

No comments:

Post a Comment