Thursday, April 25, 2013

Two Referees in Finals - Details Below

We new this was coming for the finals with two referees on the ice but here is the formal announcement along with other details:

On-Ice Officials for Ray Miron Presidents’ Cup Finals Announced

GLENDALE, AZ (April 25, 2013) – The Central Hockey League (CHL) announced today the four referees and three linesmen that will make up the on-ice officials crew for the 2013 CHL Ray Miron Presidents’ Cup Finals that begins on Tuesday at the Allen Event Center in Allen, Texas when the Americans host the Wichita Thunder.

The referees selected for the Finals are Zac Blazic, Brent Coulombe, Kevin Curtis and Peter Tarnaris and the linesmen are Kevin Cassidy, Brandon Gawryletz and Mike Kehoe. 

A change from the regular season and the post-season to date is that the CHL will implement a two-referee system for all games in the Finals.

“We are excited for the start of the Championship Round and pleased to be implementing the two-referee system for the entire series,” said Jim Wiley, CHL Director of Hockey Operations.  “The seven officials selected for the Finals are very dedicated and deserving.”

Of the seven officials selected, only Peter Tarnaris has previously worked in the CHL Finals as he was assigned to Game 1 and Game 5 of last year’s Finals between Wichita and Fort Wayne.

"The CHL Officiating Department is pleased of the CHL Board of Governor's approval for the two-referee system in the Ray Miron Presidents’ Cup Finals,” said Bryan Lewis, CHL Referee-in-Chief.  “All officials selected to work the Championship Series have earned this opportunity of officiating on the League’s biggest stage."


  1. Oh no! They must have a very small pool of refs if these are the best they can get! :(

  2. I wonder if this means the ref-ing will only be half as bad, or worse x 2.